Since starting classes in Lampwork glass bead making, I discovered the need for a better glass rod transportation system to get my glass rods to class. The first method I used was bundling the rods in post tubes, but I found it difficult to see what colours I had, an I always cut my hands trying to get glass out of the tube! I bought a toolbox, which was great for a while, until I ended up with so much glass I couldn’t see the colours at the bottom.

A sewing solution was in order! Inspired by the rolls painters use to transport their brushes, also knitters storing knitting needles, I made a roll up storage bag.

Here are the pics of the results:

IMG 0515 The bag rolled up – clips and handles.

IMG 0517 From the side you can see how it rolls up.

IMG 0520 Starting to unroll, the flap inside covers the sharp tips of the glass and protects them from bashing into each other.

IMG 0523 Unrolled, the rods are colour organised, I can see what colours I have straight away. The elastic strap keeps them from toppling one way or the other. Also the white inside makes it easier to tell what the transparent colours are.

Happy Making!
Lisa

